Predictions: The 2007-08 CoB Professorships

Fresh off of our spot on pick of Jon Carr to win the 2007 Louis K. Brandt Award, it's time once again for our annual CoB Professorships predictions. Our success rate in this effort for 2006 was high. We expect the following names to appear when the 2007-08 CoB Professorships are announced:

PROFESSORSHIP PREDICTIONS FOR 2007-08

<u>Banking Professors (2)</u> Matthew Hood Farooq Malik

Draughn Professor Michael Wittmann

<u>Financial Services Professor</u> John Clark

> Kaetsu Professor John Lambert

McCarty Professor Chang-Tseh Hsieh

<u>Morgan Professor</u> Stanley Clark or Charles Jordan [we forget whose turn it is]

BAC/Partnership Society/Economics Professorships (12)

Mary Anderson Cherylynn Becker Brigitte Burgess Jon Carr Stanley Clark or Charles Jordan [Morgan loser] Sami Dakhlia Fujun Lai Akbar Marvasti Edward Nissan Talai Osmonbekov Jennifer Sequeira Michael Vest

Starting at the top, expect CoB *economist* Farooq Malik to continue his ascent in the CoB's finance group, this time landing a Banking Professorship (one of two). Hood held this prize in 2006-07. Next, the Draughn Professorship, supported by a \$1,000,000 endowment, rests solidly with *assistant professor* Michael Wittmann, as does the CFS Professorship with John Clark.

MIS professor Chang-tseh Hsieh owns the McCarty Professorship, while accounting professors Stanley Clark and Charles Jordan continue to play musical chair for the Morgan Professorship. These are all relatively safe picks. However, in an upset expect IB *assistant professor* John Lambert to land the Kaetsu Professorship in international business this year. It has been held by *marketing* professor Alvin Williams since the retirement of Tyrone Black. This has been an embarrassing situation for CoB administrators given that Williams does not hold an international business credential. Although Lambert does not hold an IB credential either, he at least holds an IB faculty position. Now that Williams pulls down a cool \$175,000 per year, expect this move – one that would place the Kaetsu Professorship back with IB for the first time since Eddie Lewis' retirement.

If our predictions hold, there will be some shakeup in the BAC et al. Professorships. In addition to last year's holders (Burgess, Carr, Clark/Jordan, Dakhlia, Marvasti, Nissan, Osmonbekov, and Vest), expect Anderson, Becker, Lai and Sequeira to secure one of these professorships for the first time in their USM careers.